Announcing the 36 Regions Competing in the 2023 Overwatch World Cup

Hey gamers, get ready for the fifth Overwatch World Cup! This year’s competition will crown the first World Cup champion since 2019, and we can’t wait to see who will come out on top. Reigning champion United States and three-time winner South Korea will be looking to defend their titles, but with the launch of Overwatch 2, we’re sure to see some new faces in the mix. Will we see a new champion this year? Only time will tell.

The competition will be split into three conferences, each with two groups of six countries and regions. These countries and regions were selected based on the Overwatch 2 player population data, and include the Asia-Pacific representatives India, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. In February, competition committee applications begin, and each participating country and region will host World Cup Trials over three weekends. These trials will be followed by team tryouts in March and the final team of seven players will be selected in April.

In June, teams will compete within their groups to earn one of 16 spots at the LAN finals, which will be held in the fall of 2023. A special note for China: Given the current dynamics in China and the strong performance of Chinese teams in previous World Cups, a team from China will receive a direct invitation to the Group Stage. There will be no World Cup Trials in China, and the Team will not compete in the Online Qualifiers. The tryouts process in China will differ from that of other countries/regions, so stay tuned for more information for players in the China region.

So, grab your controllers and get ready to cheer on your country as the best Overwatch players in the world compete for the title of World Cup champion. It’s gonna be a wild ride!

Here is a breakdown of the 36 teams and six groups for the online qualifiers:

Asia-Pacific Conference (APAC):

Chinese TaipeiAustralia
Hong KongIndia
JapanNew Zealand
South KoreaThailand

Americas Conference (AMER):

Costa RicaBrazil
Puerto RicoEcuador
United StatesPeru

Europe and Middle East Conference (EMEC):

Great BritainPoland
ItalySaudi Arabia

With a team from China securing one of the 16 spots advancing to groups, this is the distribution of remaining 15 spots that teams will compete for in the online qualifiers.


Competition Committees

Each team will be represented by a competition committee that consists of the following three roles:

  • General Manager: responsible for team operations and communications with Blizzard
  • Coach: responsible for leading tryouts, player selection, and all competitive aspects of the team
  • Social Lead: responsible for the team’s social media, content, and engagement initiatives

Think you got what it takes to lead your homeland’s competition committee? Here’s how you can get involved:


  • Create a video that describes who you are, why you want to be a competition committee member, and what unique advantages you can bring to the space


  • Fill out a web form (name, email, Discord,, etc.)
  • Written statements for Step 1 will be accepted here in-lieu of a video


  • If selected, Blizzard will reach out via email or Discord with next steps

Aspiring committee members can complete the online application now. The submission window will close Jan. 30, 2023. The selection process will be finalised from Feb. 1–10, with Blizzard selecting the committee members for each country and region. To be an eligible Committee Candidate or prospective player for the 2023 Overwatch World Cup, you must be over the age of 18 by Oct. 1, 2023.

Stay Informed

Follow Overwatch and Path to Pro on Twitter for updates. We will reveal your final competition committees and player rosters through these channels. A new website experience is also on the way! If there are any questions or concerns, you’re welcome to reach out to us.

Heroes, the stage is set, and the world is watching! Are you ready to support your homeland and become the 2023 Overwatch World Cup champions?


  • What is the format of the World Cup Trials?
  • Double-elimination, randomly seeded bracket. The winner of each World Cup Trials will earn a guaranteed spot in their country or region’s team March tryouts.
  • Who is allowed to apply for a competition committee position?
    • Any person with an active account in good standing is eligible to apply for a committee position for their country or region of residence. 
  • Where are the rules of the tournament?
    • World Cup Trials rules will be available in the sign-up portals for each respective tournament.
    • The competition rules for the online qualifiers, group stage, and LAN finals will be delivered directly to the final committees and players for their acknowledgement.
    • Onsite expectations, prizing details, match format, and other information will be communicated directly to these teams.
  • What documents do I need to be eligible to participate as part of a representing team?
    • Participants must provide proof of a valid passport, and in the event your passport doesn’t match the country or region you’re trying to represent, you will also need to provide to Blizzard proof of a government-issued identification from the country or region you’re trying to represent.
    • Participants must use a account in your name in good standing, with residence registered to the country or region you’re trying to represent.
    • Eligibility to apply and represent will depend on the country of residency and game account standing, so make sure your Blizzard account is up-to-date and in good standing.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version